Creating Your Digital Self – How to tell your story of Deep Learning (Part 2)

past-present-future“An electronic portfolio has the potential to become a dynamic celebration of learning that documents a teacher’s professional development across his or her career.” (Helen Barret)
“Portfolios tell a story…put in anything that helps to tell that story.”(Pearl&Leon Paulson)
Portfolios are our way of telling OUR life-long success and inspiring stories that show our tie between our past and future. In fact, portfolios have been a ‘got to have one’ tool in the 21st century.
1. Ask & Answer

I guess the most difficult part while creating a portfolio is where to start. Here are my three questions that can help you to start thinking while you create your e-portfolio:

  • What have I collected up to now that tells the story of my past? (What did I study/What did I learn?)
  • What have I achieved that tells the story of my today? (What artifacts have I collected?/ What are my achievements?)
  • Where will I be going and where will I be telling my story in the future? (What are my plans for future?/Where do I want to see myself next year?/What are my short/long term plans?)

2. Collect
The second step can be to brainstorm what to include into your e-portfolio. Here are my suggestions:

  • Personal information (It can include your name,surname,marital status,where you were born etc., I guess it’s better not to display too much personal information on web as some people can use these information for other purposes)
  • Educational Background
  • Professional Development (The courses you have taken,conferences you have attended etc.)
  • Goals for future
  • Presentations,workshops,seminars you have done.
  • Projects
  • Recognition ,awards
  • Articles that you have written
  • Interests
  • Reflections (Your reflections on your personal development, interests, goals,your seminars and workshops, projects etc)
  • Pictures, slide shows and videos of you on the job.
  • Links to your websites,blogs.
  • Snapshots of your achievements.

3.Select

After collecting all your items that are evidences of what you’ve learned and achieved, you can select the best ones that show and demonstrate your competence. It can include the videos, slide shows or podcasts that you have created or  the projects you have completed, your award widgets, your links to your blogs or other web pages …

4. Reflect

Reflection is the soul of a portfolio. You should think and comment on the items that you have selected to demonstrate your learning from those experiences, in a way reflecting and showing others why what you know, what you do and what you have achieved is important to you.  (I use my blogs for reflection and blog about my experiences, achievements, courses I’ve taken or given, projects I’ve involved.)

5. Connect

Now, you can start thinking how and where to connect all the items (personal, professional, interests, work,community…) together and which web tools you are going to use to tie them together. Here are some of my suggestions where to connect :

More connectors to come on Part 3…

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>